20/10/2016
Règlement de participation et fonctionnement des Awards
Valeurs et critères
Plutôt que d’opter pour des catégories classiques propres aux programmes d’Awards internationaux, le Comité de pilotage a choisi de fonder les Africa Architecture Awards sur un ensemble de valeurs et de critères :
  • Innovation – en matière de design, dans le choix des matériaux, dans la méthodologie choisie ;
  • Identité – dans la valorisation de projets qui valorisent le patrimoine et la tradition africaine, qui permettent l’adaptation de méthodes constructives traditionnelles au monde contemporain ;
  • Mise en œuvre – dans l’energie investie en Afrique pour créer et suivre des projets d’architecture dans un contexte souvent complexe (manque d’infrastructures, soutiens économiques et gouvernementaux parfois limités).*
CATÉGORIES
Built
Cette catégorie englobe les projets architecturaux finalisés ces cinq dernières années.
Il peut s’agir de bâtiments de taille modeste ou conséquente (maisons individuelles, arrêts de bus, gratte-ciel, infrastructures de transport, campus universitaires, bâtiments de santé, villes nouvelles, projets de conservation urbaine et d’aménagement paysager, projets de rénovation).
Les installations et structures dites « éphémères » peuvent également être prises en compte, à condition qu’elles fassent preuve d’une occupation et d’une utilisation actives.
Speculative
Cette catégorie promeut les projets spéculatifs adaptés aux réalités et contextes africains pouvant potentiellement avoir un impact sur les générations futures. Ces projets ne sont généralement pas construits. Ils peuvent toutefois avoir une composante de type installation, exposition ou utilisation temporaire.
Emerging Voices
Cette catégorie valorise les projets de tout étudiant inscrit dans un programme accrédité, où que ce soit sur le continent africain. Les candidatures peuvent se faire sous la forme de dessins, de photographies, de films et/ou de soumissions multimédias. Toutes les candidatures doivent être soumises via un support numérique.
Critical Dialogue
Cette catégorie vise à positionner l’écriture et la critique d’architecture comme composantes de la culture architecturale. Ces travaux doivent avoir été publiés soit sous format papier, soit sous format numérique (blogs, chaînes Vimeo, YouTube). Les éditeurs sont également invités à soumettre des articles, essais et livres sur l’architecture. Le travail soumis peut prendre la forme de candidatures écrites, de films, d’expositions, de transcriptions d’interviews radio ou d’émissions de télévision, de podcasts et de blogs. Seul le travail produit ces cinq dernières années est éligible.
Special Lifetime Achiever’s Award
Ce prix est décerné à la discrétion de tout Grand Jury. Il est remis à un architecte ou à des architectes ayant largement contribué au métier de l’architecture et/ou de l’urbanisme sur une période de temps significative.
People's Choice Award
Ce prix favorise l’expression du grand public. L’ensemble des projets est soumis et publié en ligne, sur le site Internet des Africa Architecture Awards dans les 72 heures suivant leur soumission. Ces projets sont éligibles au vote en ligne. Le projet le plus populaire recevra un Certificat de Gagnant, mais ne remportera ni trophée, ni récompense fiduciaire.
ORGANISTION DES RÉCOMPENSES
  • Il y a 5 nominés dans chaque catégorie. Chaque nominé recoit un billet d’avion pour la Cérémonie des Awards qui se tiendra au Cap le 28 septembre 2017;
  • Parmi ces 5 nominés, 3 gagnants du mérite par catégorie sont nominés, à l’exception du People’s Choice Award;
  • Pour chacune des 4 catégories, l’un des trois gagnants du mérite recevra le trophée Africa Architecture Awards 2017 ;
  • L’un des 4 gagnants du trophée recevra le grand prix de 10 000 $ ;
  • Le gagnant du People’s Choice Award recevra un billet d’avion pour la Cérémonie des Awards qui se tiendra au Cap le 28 septembre 2017.
RÈGLEMENT DE PARTICIPATION
Le travail suivant est éligible aux Africa Architecture Awards 2017 :
  • Tout projet conçu et/ou construit sur le continent africain, quelles que soient la nationalité et la résidence de l’architecte/des architectes ;
  • Les Awards sont ouverts à toutes les sociétés et à tous les individus travaillant dans les domaines de l’architecture, l’urbanisme, l’aménagement urbain et le bâtiment, à condition qu’ils soient des professionnels accrédités dans leur pays d’origine ; et/ou aux étudiants inscrits dans un programme d’études accrédité.
  • Les étudiants diplômés pourront présenter une œuvre réalisée au cours de leur dernière année
  • d’étude.
    • Le Critical Dialogue Award est ouvert à toute personne travaillant dans le domaine de l’architecture, de l’histoire, de la recherche et/ou de la critique architecturale. Les journalistes, les auteurs, les commentateurs et les historiens, ainsi que les architectes, les urbanistes et les paysagistes, sont invités à participer.
    • Il n’y a pas de limite quant au nombre de candidatures et de catégories, par participant.
    IMPARTIALITÉ
    Aucun membre du Comité de pilotage ni du Grand Jury, aucun cabinet pour lequel ils travaillent, aucun étudiant qu’ils ont formé directement, ne sera éligible aux Awards 2017. Aucun membre de la structure organisatrice, aucun associé ni employé, aucune personne ayant contribué à la préparation ou à l’organisation de ces Awards, ne sera éligible ni ne pourra assister un candidat.
    Catégories Built / Speculative / Emerging Voices
    • Toutes les candidatures doivent être soumises sur le site Internet au format d’un court-métrage d’une longueur maximale de cinq minutes.
    • Veuillez noter que le formulaire de candidature en ligne vous guidera étape par étape pour soumettre votre candidature. Un service d’assistance est disponible durant les heures de bureau (heure de l’Afrique du Sud) afin de répondre à vos questions et de résoudre vos difficultés techniques.
    • Les courts-métrages peuvent être des présentations PowerPoint conventionnelles exportées au format vidéo, des histoires filmées sur téléphone portable et assemblées sur ordinateur ou des films scénarisés et élaborés. Veuillez considérer les courts-métrages des gagnants des Awards 2015 comme modèle de soumission.
    • Cliquez ici pour accéder aux guides détaillés sur les différents formats et outils utilisables pour soumettre votre/vos projet(s).
    • Toutes les candidatures doivent être hébergées sur une plate-forme web (par ex., YouTube, Vimeo, Facebook). Une adresse URL vers cette vidéo doit être fournie dans le Formulaire de candidature.
    • Toutes les candidatures doivent être accompagnées d’une Image de présentation qui sera affichée sur la page de renvoi du site Internet. Taille minimale : 1 Mo / 72 ppp / 740 pixels de large x 660 pixels de haut / Format : JPG, PNG, TIFF.
    • Un bref synopsis du projet au format écrit, ne dépassant pas 50 mots, doit accompagner toutes les candidatures. Il apparaîtra avec votre candidature en ligne.
    • Toutes les candidatures doivent être accompagnées d’une bannière web qui sera affichée sur la page de renvoi du site Internet. Taille minimale : 1 Mo / 72 ppp / 770 pixels de large x 433 pixels de haut / Format : JPG, PNG, TIFF.
    • Toutes les candidatures doivent être accompagnées d’un aperçu du projet au format écrit (maximum : 500 mots). Il apparaîtra avec votre candidature en ligne pour consultation par le public.
    • Des fichiers PDF de dessins, de plans et d’élévations peuvent être transférés avec votre candidature. La taille maximale de fichier par candidature est de 30 Mo.
    Critical Dialogue Award
    • Tout documentaire ou film doit être présenté au format de bande-annonce, ne durant pas plus de cinq minutes. Si le Grand Jury s’avère avoir besoin de la version longue de votre candidature, l’équipe de gestion des Awards vous contactera.
    • Toute candidature écrite doit être soumise au format PDF. Taille de fichier maximale : 30 Mo.
    • Pour les livres publiés et catalogues des visuels de ces publications et vues détaillées de leur contenu doivent être soumis au format PDF. Si le Grand Jury s’avère avoir besoin d’un exemplaire physique de votre publication, l’équipe de gestion des Awards vous contactera. Taille de fichier maximale : 30 Mo.
    • Toute candidature radio ou podcast doit être soumise au format bande-annonce ou dans une version éditée, ne durant pas plus de cinq minutes. Si le Grand Jury s’avère avoir besoin de la version longue de votre projet, l’équipe de gestion des Awards vous contactera.
    • Toutes les candidatures doivent être accompagnées d’un visuel de présentation qui sera affiché sur la page de renvoi du site Internet. Taille minimale : 1 Mo / 72 ppp / 740 pixels de large x 660 pixels de haut / Format : JPG, PNG, TIFF.
    • Un bref synopsis du projet au format écrit, n’excédant pas 50 mots, doit accompagner toutes les candidatures. Il apparaîtra avec votre candidature en ligne.
    • Toutes les candidatures doivent être accompagnées d’une bannière web qui sera affichée sur la page de renvoi du site Internet. Taille minimale : 1 Mo / 72 ppp / 770 pixels de large x 433 pixels de haut / Format : JPG, PNG, TIFF.
    • Toutes les candidatures doivent être accompagnées d’un aperçu du projet au format écrit (maximum : 500 mots). Il apparaîtra avec votre candidature en ligne pour consultation par le public.
    Note générale
    Toutes les candidatures, une fois vérifiées et approuvées, apparaîtront sur le site Internet. Les visuels de publication seront également publiés en ligne. Les résumés des projets seront soumis à un contrôle éditorial avant leur mise à disposition en ligne
    L’ensemble des projets des catégories Built / Speculative / Emerging Voices sera évalué selon les trois critères suivants, à poids égal :
    • Innovation – en matière de design, dans le choix des matériaux, dans la méthodologie choisie ;
    • Identité – dans la valorisation de projets qui valorisent le patrimoine et la tradition africaine, qui permettent l’adaptation de méthodes constructives traditionnelles au monde contemporain ;
    • Mise en œuvre – dans l’energie investie en Afrique pour créer et suivre des projets d’architecture dans un contexte souvent complexe (manque d’infrastructures, soutiens économiques et gouvernementaux parfois limités).
    Critical Dialogue
    Cette catégorie vise à récompenser les projets ayant le plus largement contribué à la compréhension et au dialogue critique autour de l’architecture en Afrique.
    LE PROCESSUS DE SÉLECTION
    Janvier 2017
    Ouverture des candidatures en ligne.
    Juin 2017
    Clôture des candidatures le 30 juin pour l’ensemble des catégories, à l’exception du People's Choice Award qui fermera le 18 août 2017.
    Juillet 2017
    • Première étape de sélection les 20, 21 et 22 juillet 2017;
    • Le Comité de pilotage informera le Grand Jury de l’intention de ces Awards avant de commencer l’évaluation des projets ;
    • Le Grand Jury sélectionnera les projets nominés (cinq par catégorie) lors de cette première étape de sélection ;
    • Les projets nominés seront rendus publics sur le site Internet, les plates-formes de réseaux sociaux et les médias appropriés ;
    • Des évaluations techniques seront mises en oeuvre pour les projets nominés dans la catégorie BUILT.
    Août 2017
    • Fin des évaluations techniques ;
    • Les rapports doivent être soumis au Grand Jury avant le 31 août 2017.
    Septembre 2017
    • Sélection finale les 25 et 26 septembre 2017 au Cap ;
    • Tous les projets nominés seront invités à la Cérémonie des Awards par les parrains ;
    • Cérémonie des Awards le jeudi 28 septembre au Cap
Partagez
Événements à venir
Octobre
20 Oct 2017
African Mobilities-Lagos
Panel discussion on the work of Olalekan Jeyifous 16:00pm-18:00pm
University of Lagos
Partagez vos événements
Avez-vous un événement que vous souhaitez partager.

20/10/2016
Entry Guidelines and Key Dates
CRITERIA
Rather than adopt the more conventional categories of global awards programmes, the Africa Architecture Awards Steering Panel elected to approach the award through a values-based system around the following three criteria: –
  • Innovation – of design, materials, approach, practice, new forms of public space;
  • Identity – projects that deal sensitively and innovatively with heritage and tradition; that embody cultural sensitivity and contextual interpretation; that consider appropriation and repurposing of use; and that attempt to translate traditional ways of building/occupying space into modern and contemporary contexts;
  • Implementation – the energy and inventiveness required in Africa to create and implement projects in markets with varying levels and scales of economic government support and infrastructure.
CATEGORIES
The Africa Architecture Awards entries are invited in these four categories:
  • Built
  • Speculative
  • Emerging Voices
  • Critical Dialogue
Built
The Built Award seeks nominations that represent the broadest possible range of architectural interventions. These include architectural projects ranging from modest, small-scale buildings to sizable complexes – from single homes, kiosks and bus stops to skyscrapers, infrastructure and transportation undertakings, housing initiatives, educational and health campuses, new towns, urban conservation projects, landscape projects and adaptive re-use. All forms of planning practice in urban as well as rural contexts are encouraged. Installations and temporary ‘pop-up’ structures may also be considered, providing they can show active occupation and use. Projects should have been completed in the last five years.
Speculative
The Speculative Award seeks to promote imaginative responses to African realities and contexts that will have an impact for future generations. Speculative projects are generally unbuilt, although they may have an installation, exhibition or temporary use component. Projects may range from unbuilt competition entries to short films about architecture with an emphasis on the future.
Emerging Voices
The Emerging Voices Award recognises the role and importance of education in shaping the future. This student category seeks design projects from any student enrolled in an accredited programme anywhere on the African continent. Entries must be visual, in the form of drawings, photographs, films and/or multimedia submissions. All entries must be digitally submitted.
Critical Dialogue
The Critical Dialogue Award seeks to position critical writing and discussion about architecture as an important part of architectural culture. Work submitted in this category must have been published to a wider audience, either in offline print or in digital media such as websites, blogs, Vimeo or YouTube channels. Commercial publishers are welcome to submit articles, essays and books on architecture, and the Award encourages independent and new media publishers to submit in this category. Work may take the form of written entries, films, exhibitions, transcripts of radio interviews or television shows, podcasts and blogs. Only work produced in the last five years is eligible.
SPECIAL LIFETIME ACHIEVERS' AWARDS
This Award is given at the discretion of the Master Jury in any given award cycle. It is awarded to an architect or architects who have made a significant contribution to the professions of architecture and/or urban design over a substantial period of time.
PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD
The Awards are committed to promoting awareness and dialogue with a broad audience. All entries are posted live onto the Africa Architecture Awards website within 72 hours of being submitted and are eligible for online voting. The most popular entry will receive a Winners’ Certificate but is not eligible for a trophy or the $10 000 cash prize.
PRIZE STRUCTURE
  • There will be 5 shortlisted finalists in each of the four categories, namely Built,Speculative,Emerging Voices and Critical Dialogue.
  • Each of the 20 shortlisted finalists will be flown to the awards ceremony to be held in Cape Town on 28 September 2017.
  • The winner of the People's Choice Award will be flown to the Awards Ceremony.
  • There will be three merit winners per category, excepting the People’s Choice Award.
  • For each of the four categories, one of the three merit winners in each category will receive the Africa Architecture Awards 2017 trophy for that particular category.
  • One of the four trophy winners will receive the grand prize of $10 000.
RULES & ELIGIBILITY FOR ENTRY
The following work is eligible for entry in the Africa Architecture Awards 2017:
  • Any project conceived and/or built on the African continent, irrespective of the nationality and residency of the architect(s);
  • The awards are open to all firms and individuals involved in architecture, urban design, planning, and construction, provided they are licensed architectural professionals in their home countries; and/or students enrolled in an accredited programme of study.
  • Students who have graduated may enter work from their final year of study.
  • The ‘Critical Dialogue’ category is open to any person working in the field of architecture, architectural practice, architectural history, theory and/or critical studies. Submissions are welcomed from journalists, writers, commentators, filmmakers and historians, as well as architects, urban designers and landscape architects;
  • There is no limit to the number of entries, nor is there a limit to the number of categories a participant may enter.
IMPARTIALITY
No member of the Steering Panel, Master Jury or any practice they work for will be eligible for entry in the 2017 awards. No member of the organising body, nor any associate or employee, nor any person, who has been concerned with the preparation or organisation of the award/prize, shall be eligible to compete or assist a competitor.
ENTRY SPECIFICATIONS
Built / Speculative / Emerging Voices Categories
For the Built,Speculative and Emerging Voices Categories, the entry specifications are as follows:
  • All entries are submitted digitally on the website in the format of a movie with a maximum length of five minutes.
  • Please note that the Online Entry Form will take you through a step-by-step guide on submitting your entry, with a support desk available during office hours (South Africa Standard Time) to assist with any queries or technical difficulties.
  • Movies can be conventional PowerPoint presentations exported as movies; narratives shot on mobile phones and edited on laptops, or scripted and crafted films. Please review winners’ films from the 2015 Awards as a guide for submissions. PowerPoint presentations that have not been exported as movies will not be accepted.
  • Click here for detailed guides on the different formats and tools you can use for submitting your project/s.
  • View the Making Movie and Audio Entries Easy page for detailed guides on the different formats and tools you can use for submitting your project/s.
  • All entries must be hosted on a web platform (for e.g. You Tube, Vimeo, Facebook,) and a URL link to the entry must be submitted in the entry form.
  • All entries must be accompanied by a Feature Display Image for display on the landing page of the website. Minimum size 1 MB / 72 dpi / 740w x 660h pixels Format JPG, PNG or TIFF
  • A short written Project Synopsis of no longer than 50 words to be displayed with their entry online must accompany all entries.
  • All entries must be accompanied by an Entry Page Hero Image for display on the website. Minimum size 1MB / 72 dpi, 770w x 433h pixels Format: JPG, PNG or TIFF
  • All entries must be accompanied by a written overview of the project (maximum 500 words); This will be available with your entry for online public viewing.
  • PDF files of drawings, plans and elevations can be uploaded with your entry. Maximum file size per entry 30MB
Critical Dialogue Category
  • Any documentaries or films should be in a trailer or edited version format, lasting no longer than five minutes. Should the Master Jury require a full-length version of your submission, the Awards management team will contact you.
  • Any written entries must be submitted as PDF files. Maximum file size per entry 30MB
  • Published books or catalogues must submit images of their publication and detailed views of the content spreads in a PDF. Should the Master Jury require a hard copy of your submission, the Awards management team will contact you. Maximum file size per entry 30MB
  • Any radio or podcast entries should be in a trailer or edited version formats, lasting no longer than five minutes. Should the Master Jury require a full-length version of your submission, the Awards management team will contact you.
  • All entries must be accompanied by a Feature Display Image for display on the landing page of the website. Minimum size 1MB / 72 dpi / 740w x 660h pixels / Format: JPG, PNG, TIFF
  • A short written Project Synopsis of no longer than 50 words to be displayed with their entry online must accompany all entries.
  • All entries must be accompanied by an Entry Page Hero Image for display on the website. Minimum size 1MB / 72 dpi / 770w x 433h pixels / Format JPG, PNG, TIFF
  • All entries must be accompanied by a written overview of the project (maximum 500 words); This will be available with your entry for online public viewing.
General Note
All entries, once verified and approved by technical quality control, will appear on the website. Publication images will also be posted online. Publication summaries/overviews will be subject to editorial control and will also be available online.
JUDGING CRITERIA
All work in the Built/Speculative/Emerging Voices categories will be evaluated within the following three criteria, each of which carries equal weighting.
  • Innovation (of design, materials, approach, practice, new forms of public space);
  • Identity (projects that deal sensitively and innovatively with heritage and tradition; that embody cultural sensitivity; contextual interpretation; appropriation and repurposing of use; that attempt to translate traditional ways of building/occupying space into modern and contemporary contexts);
  • Implementation (the energy and inventiveness required in Africa to implement/create projects in markets with varying levels and scales of economic government support and infrastructure).
Critical Dialogue
This prize will be evaluated on the body or piece of work that has contributed most significantly to the critical understanding and dialogue on architecture in Africa.
KEY DATES
January 2017
Online entries open
June 2017
Entries close on the 30th of June 2017 for all categories except the People's Choice Award, which closes on the 18th of August 2017
July 2017
  • First round of judging takes place from 20-22 July 2017
  • The Master Jury will be briefed by the Steering Panel on the intent of the awards before judging commences;
  • The Master Jury will nominate a shortlist of projects (five per category) in the first round of judging.
  • Shortlisted projects will be publicised on the website, the social media platforms and relevant press;
  • Technical reviews will be commissioned for the shortlisted projects in the BUILT category.
August 2017
  • Technical reviews completed.
  • People's Choice Award voting closes on 18 August 2017
  • Technical Reports must be submitted to the Master Jury by 31 August 2017.
September 2017
  • Final judging takes place from 25-26 September 2017 in Cape Town.
  • All short-listed projects will be invited to the Awards Ceremony by the sponsors;
  • Awards Ceremony takes place on Thursday 28 September 2017in Cape Town.
Share
Upcoming Events
August
01 Aug - 22 Aug 2017
Awards technical reviews completed
September
25 Sep - 26 Sep 2017
Awards final judging
TBC
Cape Town
27 Sep 2017
Meet the Shortlist FInalists cocktail party
TBC
Cape Town
Share your events
Do you have an event that you would like to share.